Powder Bath Update

by starleewhite

As many of you know we are flipping a 1992 foreclosed home in Wichita, Kansas. We had a lot of momentum when we first started b/c many updates had to be done in order for us to move in (i.e. new roof, carpet, hardwood floors, paint). So our big pink house took on quite a transformation pretty quickly, but there are still many projects left to do! Our big winter project will be renovating our master bath, but we decided to knock out 2 smaller bathrooms first so we had 2 usable finished bathrooms to feel good about in the midst of our master bath construction. Daniel and I just finished transforming our front bath off the kitchen and I thought I’d share! This bathroom sees a lot of traffic as it is the one guests use.

Here is the bath mid-construction with lots of speckling and paint sample options. As you can see it was previously a horrid shade of yellow! This color felt very harsh in this small space that doesn’t get any natural light.  We gravitate more toward muted/cool tones. (All photos are taken with my phone and the lighting is not the best…but you can get the idea!)
IMG_0656IMG_0659There was a awkward storage cabinet above the toilet that we took down.IMG_0660

Here is the bathroom after spackling, priming, painting, new shelves, new faucet, new mirror, new towel bar, new toilet paper holder, and a little bit of styling!

IMG_0982

The color we chose for the walls was Sherwin Williams Light French Grey. This is such a gorgeous middle tone gray. I have a feeling I will be using it for future projects!
I thrifted this mirror months and months ago…before we even bought this house. It was a steal and I just loved the shape. I’m so glad it fit perfectly in this space! I love how the gold is a bit unexpected against all the oil rubbed bronze and gray.
We were able to salvage this pedestal sink, but just replaced the faucet and drain cover.

IMG_0983

I ordered these fun prints from Minted just to jazz up this space a little bit. I tend to thrift a lot of items to decorate and that usually means it’s a lot of vintage stuff. But I also love quirky modern art and wanted to brighten up this space with these pops of color.
The towel bar was ordered off of Amazon along with the matching toilet paper holder. The towel is from Target many moons ago.

IMG_0984

I knew I wanted shelves that took up the width of the wall above the toilet and found this tutorial for ‘floating shelves’ on Pinterest. Daniel built them, stained them, and installed them all for under $30. I think they turned out so great!

IMG_0985

It was a fun challenge to style these shelves! I’m not the world’s best decorator and we are also budgeting very strictly right now, so I knew I needed to use items we already had around the house. I rummaged in the basement and gathered items. This vintage fan was my grandfather’s who just passed away! I love the character it adds.

IMG_0986

Here is the lower shelf. All items were thrifted for the shelves, given to me, or made with the exception of this basket which I got on sale at Target. I love the copper handles!

IMG_0987

This is the top of the toilet…not to exciting. But I did decide to make a tissue box cover out of felt using this tutorial. I think it just neutralizes the look and I never like the designs on tissue boxes.IMG_0988

Other details that are small but make a big impact are the light socket and wall sockets and covers. Throughout this house ALL of them are an almond color. It’s not the worst thing, but does tend to age the house. Plus, after we sprayed all the trim white, the coordinating sockets make everything look more cohesive and finished. So Daniel changed this out as well as the socket near the sink.

IMG_0990

A close up of the toilet paper holder. Not sure why, but I like the ones you slide on better than the spring loaded ones!

IMG_0989

I wish the lighting was better so you could get a truer sense of the color, but here is the finished product!! We will be changing out the door knob and hinge to be oil rubbed bronze as some point too. But, that’s really the last detail! Wahoo!
Even though we are living in the midst of a flip, it feels so good to knock out an entire room. I feel so happy every time I walk by this bathroom now and I’m not so ashamed when guests come over! Haha.

IMG_0991

