Golden Globes 2016: Best Dressed

by starleewhite

While I never watch major award shows (no cable….rambunctious 1 year old), I always enjoy getting online the next day and seeing what all the gorgeous celebrities wore. I thought it would be fun to share my favorite dresses from the other night and what I like about each one. Most days I am dressed in my comfy and functional mommy clothes, so seeing all these stunning gowns just makes me happy. 🙂 I like to take a few moments and imagine what the designer was thinking and how they might have constructed the gown. It truly is an art form!

Amber Heard: Let’s start with my very favorite pick of the night…Amber Heard in Gucci. If I had to pick one dress I would have personally worn, it would have been this one. The delicate romantic flowers line her neck and follow a u-shape pattern down the back of her dress. I love the nude undertone with the sweet blush color and the dramatic train. All of this combined with her hair style and lip color just won me over. The waist line is also great, drawing the eye to her petite figure. So stunning!

Amber Heard

Alicia Vikander: Wearing Louis Vuitton, I thought Alicia Vikander just looked so simple and elegant. This dress has subtle complexities, like the way it fans out when she steps and the trim around the neck and arms, but it really lets her natural beauty shine. The vertical lines broken up by the belt create a visually pleasing line that make her look extra tall.

Alicia Vikander

Helen Mirren: For my ‘classiest’ pick, Hellen Mirren takes the cake in Badgley Mischka. Goodness those shear shoulders are so elegant and just a little sexy, but not too revealing…very fitting for her age. What really sells me is how she paired the dress with this necklace that perfectly mirrors and complements the neckline of her dress. She just looked perfectly classy and gorgeous.

Helen Mirren

Joanne Froggatt: This Downton Abbey favorite just nailed it on the head in this Lily James dress in my opinion. The color is really on-point for this year and the cut fits her petite frame really well. The way the fabric curves and bends the sheen to create its shape is so subtle and creative. And the way the bottom half flows is just so feminine and lady-like. Love this on her.

Joanne Froggatt

Kirsten Dunst: Usually I’m not a huge fan of dramatic plunging necklines, but I was intrigued by this Valentino dress that Kirsten Dunst wore. The black color keeps all the attention on the way the simple straps create all the shape. There is a hint of Egyptian ‘Cleopatra-esque’ draping, especially in the shoulders. I just appreciated the creative balance of interest and simplicity with this dress.

kirsten dunst

Malin Akerman: Just when you thought peplum had lived its day, Malin Akerman rocked this Reem Akra gown. The way the peplum flows on this gown is just fantastic. It is almost as if the fabric is floating in water like an elegant lacey sea creature. Haha. The simple sweetheart neckline really lets the midsection be the star of this dress. Love the fabric choice and how feminine she looks in this gown.

Malin Akerman

Jenna Dewan: I’m not typically drawn to anything super sparkly, BUT the genius of this Zuhair Murad dress is how the beading ripples away from the pocket, making it look like Jenna Dewan is causing a ripple in the water of her gorgeous gown. I just thought this was super creative and very inspired and well thought-out.

Jenna Dewan

Zendaya: Wearing Marchesa, Zendaya took a bit of a risk in this gown, but I think it payed off. It’s very unique and very dramatic, but what I really appreciate are how the layers fall on this gown. Each tier starts a bit lower than you would expect making the gown very eye catching. I thought it needed to be a few inches shorter, so not to drag, but the design and use of fabric on her tiny frame is very creative. It takes a certain body type to pull off this much fabric, but I thought Zendaya did it well.

Zendaya

 

What was your favorite gown of the night?

