Master Bathroom – The Vision

by starleewhite

As we continue to renovate the ‘Barbie Dream House’ (which is being painted gray this week! Eep!) I am experimenting with my vision and design for each room. For at least one room, I wanted to do the design and color scheme around a piece of art. That way it would all compliment and coordinate, instead of looking so hodgepodge like our former home.
I have come across these 2 pieces on Minted.com that I just love! I can envision them in our master bathroom, which I’m wanting to be a very calm and soothing place. These 2 prints combine my love for a modern/minimalist look with soft colors that are so relaxing.
minted 1 minted 2

As I dug around on Minted.com a bit more, I realized they are featuring small name designers…the hidden talent of America! I just love that, b/c I’m all about the underdog and seeing the best in each person (see more from there art collection, here)! So I’m so excited to get these 2 prints (which come pre-framed…how awesome is that?). The designer for these 2 pieces is Kelly Nasuta and I just love her stuff!

bathroom inspo

Here is one of the pictures that inspires my vision for our master bath. We have lots of natural light and have already painted all of the trim and cabinets white. Our hardware is a dark oil-rubbed-bronze. I love the stark contrast it has against the white cabinets. We will be reflooring our bath as well as installing a new tub/shower unit. The color I think I’ll use for the walls is Benjamin Moore Palladian Blue. Our bathroom won’t look quite as traditional as this photo, but I’m hoping we can create a similar light and color scheme.9781588167392_int_058-075.qxp

Thank you for letting me share my vision with y’all! This house flip is a lot of work, but when I get to get my design mind working, I really do enjoy it!

Have you ever designed a room based on a piece of art? Please share your thoughts, tips, suggestions!

Star

