Motherhood Moments: Month 7

by starleewhite

Sweet Flora girl is 7 months old! She can now be considered a world traveler as we just got back from our adventures in England and Scotland and I’m convinced her baby talk has a slight British accent as a result. 😉
IMG_4195

Flora Updates:

  • Eating: We have continued to introduce solids to Flora like carrots, peas, green beans, apples, avocado, and sweet potato. I was holding off from transitioning her to 2 solid meals a day until we got back from our trip, but what ended up happening, is I would just feed her from my plate at each meal. She enjoyed that and now expects it! Haha. I do want to work toward feeding her what we are eating and I feel like this is a good step in that direction.
  • Sleeping: Before we left on our trip, I was waking once a night to feed her and put her back down. That continued during our travels, but now that we are home her little system is just all messed up! She keeps waking up at 3:45am ready to play. I’ve been a bit of a zombie as a result!
    Thankfully, her napping has gotten much smoother and she more easily finds her thumb and goes down for naps. I can tell she is ready for sleep when she rubs her eyes and sucks her thumb. These are her cues to me and I’m grateful for them b/c then I know just what she needs!
  • Development: Flora is sitting up on her own like a champ now. She can lean forward (in half) to reach for things, then bring herself all the way back up. She used to get stuck that way until I helped her, lol. I have to watch out b/c she reaches for EVERYTHING and wants to feel it in her hands and chew on it with her gummies. She has no teeth yet and has also shown very little interest in crawling. Maybe she will be a late bloomer (ironic b/c her name is Flora), but I’m ok with that. I love her sweet gummy-smile baby phase.
    She really doesn’t love much tummy time, which is probably the reason she isn’t close to crawling, but she is great at standing up with us holding her hands or she will grab the side of the coffee table. Perhaps she will be one of those babes who goes straight to walking!
    Another fun little accomplishment, is that she has started using a sippy cup to drink water on occasion. It’s amazing to me that a 7 month old can grasp and drink out of a cup by herself!
    Her favorite thing to say is ‘dadadada’, which I love to hear. I even think she is starting to associate it with Daniel! I’ve tried to work with her on ‘mamama’…but not luck yet! 😉
  • Fav & Least Fav things: Flora is currently OBSESH with paper. She will choose a napkin over a toy if they are sitting in front of her. And you have to watch out, b/c she will eat it!
    Her least fav thing…being constipated. Eep! On our trip she didn’t poo for 9 days straight. It was so incredibly sad. When we got home we had to do a baby suppository and the process was miserable for her. Sweet thing. I do believe she felt MUCH better afterward though.

IMG_4204 IMG_4208

Mamma Updates

  • Best Moments: I was SO blessed on our trip to see my sweet brother and sister-in-law. They have a PRECIOUS baby girl, Clara, who is about 1.5 years older than Flora. Together they were such a pair and just adored each other. I remember growing up with my cousins and what a blast it was. I’m so thankful that Flora will have sweet cousins to grow up with too!photo
  • Learning Moments: Traveling abroad with a 6 month old provided for LOTS of learning moments, but I will save those for my next post. My other big learning adventure last month, was Flora getting sick for the first time. Previously she had a runny nose, but this was the first time she had a fever, congestion, and was just not herself! We made several trips the doctor b/c I didn’t want to take a sick baby overseas. Thankfully, with some meds and a lot of time cuddled up on the couch nursing, she was able to get better just in time to leave!
    I learned that having a sick baby is just so hard. All I wanted to do was take it on for her so she didn’t have to go through it. I remember my mom always saying that to me when I was sick and I never understood…until now. And I also think about how my heavenly Father looked down on us and decided to take on our sin sickness for us. What a good parent He is, and I can appreciate even more the sacrifice He made and the love He feels for me.
  • Hard Moments: My sister and I were chatting yesterday and we are both in the same place of feeling so ‘over’ being overwhelmed. There are so many amazing and new things going on in my life right now, but to be honest, I’ve had a very hard time appreciating any of it b/c I’m so flooded with feelings, to-do’s, and details. I shared on social media that my husband and I bought a house. It’s currently a very pink fixer-upper. And as someone who loves to bring new life to things, I am very excited about the transformation that will take place. But as someone who is very type-A and pre-worries about e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g…all that needs to be done is just a bit daunting. So that coupled with working, taking a huge trip overseas, preparing for a big market (that I sadly had to back out of), and taking care of med bills (yep…STILL from the birth), I feel like I’ve been on the brink of a mental breakdown for the last 6 weeks.
    I have come to the conclusion that I need to simplify my life and pare back on things that aren’t necessary for this season of life. I also realize that moving is just stressful and it will be over and done in just a few weeks. As my mom always said, you can do anything for just a few weeks.
  • Weight/Body Check-in: Going to Europe where they walk everywhere and doing a crazy ton of sight-seeing in a very short amount of time really helped lose those last few pounds. Wahoo! So I am officially down to my pre-pregnancy weight, however, things are just arranged a little differently. Haha. There is a tummy pouch that may just be there permanently, but I’ve come to just accept it. I’m really thankful that all my old pants are fitting nicely and I can’t wait for lightweight summer-breezy clothes!
  • Misc: I just have to share something that Daniel said the other day. On our way back home from Scotland, he noted that the last few weeks is the most time he has ever spent with Flora. He said he is really falling in love with her more and more. My heart instantly melted. Daniel only got 4 days off at her birth, all of which were spent in the hospital helping me recovery from an emergency C-section. So these last 2 weeks were very special for him, and for us all. Thank you, Jesus. ❤

IMG_4212

