First Week Home: Essentials for Baby & Momma

by starleewhite

Today marks 1 week home from the hospital (wahoo!). I thought I’d share the products we’ve relied on as first time parents and the products that have helped me as a new momma who is still healing from a c-section.

Baby Essentials:

1st Week Home: Baby Essentials

(See all product links on my Polyvore page, here)

  1. Moses Basket: One of my favorite Instagrammers, Mammawaters, had a Moses basket for her son Theodore when he was first born. She would place him in it and take him from room to room as she was going about her day.This seemed like a practical product so I started to keep an eye out on Craigslist during pregnancy and found one with a rocker attachment for just $30! Daniel & I have already used the basket SO much. We place it between us at night with Flora inside so she is close by at all times. And as I’ve gotten more mobile this week, I carry her with me from room to room (when I’m not snuggling her in my arms of course!). I feel much better having her in this basket than placing her on the couch or on the floor.
  2. SwaddleMe Swaddler: In the hospital they have these awful blankets that they swaddle the babies in. They aren’t that soft and somehow Flora always managed to get her arms out of the swaddle. So our 1st night home we used one of these SwaddleMe contraptions and she slept SO much better than in the hospital. She is sleeping in 4 hour increments and I actually have to wake her up to feed. I think these swaddlers really make a difference. They keep her arms tucked in where she can’t wake herself up. It’s important (according to our pediatrician) to find ones that leave lots of room in the hip area so baby’s hips don’t grow inward.
  3. Wubbanub Pacifier: I swore I wasn’t going to use a pacifier for Flora b/c I read if she is rooting around that means she is hungry. So why would I give her this false plastic plug instead of the real deal? WELL…in the hospital I would feed her and feed her until she wouldn’t take anymore. I’d swaddle her up and place her back to bed. But she would just fuss and coo and not go to sleep. She kept giving me nursing cues but when I would try again she didn’t want to eat, she was full. We talked to multiple nurses who said she probably just wants to suck, it’s babies instinct. So we started giving her the Wubbanub when we put her down to sleep. She will suck on it for a few minutes then it falls out and she is sound asleep…voila! I particularly like the Wubbanub b/c it stays in better than other pacifiers we tried. The animal attachment props it in a way that it can stay in more easily.
  4. Newborn Sized Clothing: This is probably a huge ‘duh’, but I didn’t realize the big difference between ‘newborn’ and ‘0-3’ sizing. Flora was born 7lbs 3oz and went down to 6lbs 9oz. So she was fairly small. Even the clothes we brought to the hospital swallowed her. We received a TON of size 0-3 but really nothing in newborn sizing. Thankfully I had thrifted a few little items and have since found a few more. I don’t think you need that many outfits, but a few things that fit are nice!
  5. Changing Pad: We moved the changing pad into our room on top of my dresser and it has been a life saver. I just get up at night, feed her, go over and change her diaper on the changing pad, and slip us both back in bed. It’s so convenient and better than changing her on our bed. We also use the changing pad to change her into her pj’s or her outfit for the day. It’s a nice little station to take care of Flora.
  6. Muslin Blankets: Although we don’t swaddle her in these blankets at night, pretty much every other moment of the day we have one of these nearby. We’ve also used it to cover her in the carseat if it’s a little chilly. They are so thin that they pack really nicely in the diaper bag. I also like to have people put this on their arms before I hand them to her. It provides a little protection from germs and helps other people feel she is warm and taken care of.

Momma Essentials:

1st Week Home: Essential for Mom

(See all product links on my Polyvore page, here)

  1. Nursing Bras & Tanks: Oh boy. Let me just say I had NO idea how life changing nursing would be. I’m absolutely loving providing nourishment to my baby girl and enjoying all the cuddles, but it is very time consuming and…messy. I bought 2 nursing bras and 2 nursing tanks before she arrived and those were all dirty in about 5 minutes (ok, not really…but close!). My mom took me to get 2 more tanks and 2 more bras and I still feel like I could use a few more. I REALLY love the bras and tanks we found at Motherhood Maternity.
  2. Cold Packs: Since I had a c-section I have a lovely incision to deal with. There is also the matter of your milk coming in and this other lovely issue that I had NO idea about…night sweats! Apparently if you are breast feeding your body is telling itself not to ovulate therefore you aren’t producing estrogen. So…essentially it’s like your body is going through menopause. I also get hot flashes throughout the day as well. SO…a few of the gel-type freezer packs have really made me feel better. I will use one on my incision at night and put one on my forehead! They also provide relief if your breasts are engorged. Just a great item to have around!
  3. Baby Wrap Carrier: As a first time mom I just never want to put my baby down! I feel guilty not holding her, I mean I’m used to carrying her around in my belly 24/7, so it’s hard to just have her in the basket for hours at a time. Happy Baby Wrap sent me this adorable seafoam wrap and I’ve used it a ton already. It allows me to pick up the house, go on short walks, sort the laundry, or even run errands without having to lug around a plastic carrier. I also like it b/c nobody asks to hold your baby when they are all snuggled into a wrap like this. They just see her sweet face, make a comment about how cute she is, and leave it at that! 🙂 (I’m going to do a full review of this particular wrap on a later blog post.)
  4. Glider: When it’s time to feed, there is no more comfortable place than our glider! Not only is it comforting to Flora, but it’s comforting to me. We just rock and nurse and rest. I’ve been taking naps in it as well. It’s become a little ‘safe place’ for us and I’ve loved having one!
  5. Water Bottle: Pregnancy made me SO thirsty and I thought that might go away, but nope! Nursing has continued to make me crave water like nobody’s business. It’s nice to have a water bottle you like nearby at all times. Water will also help keep your milk supply up!
  6. Pads: Doesn’t matter if you had a c-section or not, you just need these for a while!
  7. Nursing Pads: Like I said, nursing is MESSY. I bought a small box of disposable nursing pads and I already need more! You never know when you might leak or if little lady is extra messy, these are just nice to have. They also make me feel more secure when I go out in public that my shirt won’t get randomly soaked!

I’d love to hear what products you have found helpful post-baby! Please share!

