My Pregnancy Skin-Care Routine

by starleewhite

pregnancy-skin-care-routine-dearly-noted-lifestyle-blog

Prior to being pregnant, I was on an anitbiotic called Minocycline for acne. It worked really well for my skin and I rarely had a pimple to speak of.

Once we had a positive pregnancy test we started researching all of the do’s and don’ts for what’s safe to eat, ingest, or put on my skin. Turns out Minocycline is NOT safe for babies and has been known to be linked to birth defects. Immediately I stopped taking that medicine and immediately my skin started to break out.

At first I wasn’t too discouraged, it was for my baby I was making this sacrifice. But then the acne started to get worse…and worse…and worse. The most severe it’s ever been. I became extremely discouraged and embarrassed to be seen, even by my husband!

I was washing my face 2x/day with Cetaphil, which is very mild, and using spot treatments. But that was NOT cutting it, my breakouts kept getting worse. After a few crying breakdowns to Daniel, I made the trip to Ulta and consulted with a really sweet gal there who pointed me to a product called Murad. She recommended their acne line.

I left the store with 2 products:

Murad Time Release Acne Cleanser &

Murad Acne Clarifying Toner

The Murad Cleanser does have 1.5% Salicylic Acid, which when taken as a pill or used as a mask can be harmful during pregnancy (long exposure). But I’ve read that used in small quantities it is perfectly safe. The Murad toner is a witch hazel based product and, from what I’ve read, is safe during pregnancy.

So here has been my daily routine for skin care:

Morning: Wash face with Cetaphil followed by Murad toner. Moisturize with Cetaphil lotion.

Evening: Wash off makeup with Cetaphil then wash with Murad cleanser(dime sized amount) & use of my Clarisonic. Follow up with a more mild toner (CVS brand 99% alcohol free). Moisturize with Cetaphil lotion.

After implementing these products and sticking to this routine I saw GREAT improvement in my skin within just 2 days! I’ve also incorporated a few other techniques into my skin care regime that I think have helped as well. I use Bath & Body’s antibacterial foaming hand soap to wash my hands before I wash or touch my face. I change my pillow case 1/week and try to rotate the spot where I lay my face. I refrain from touching my face throughout the day. I wash my makeup brushes every few weeks with the antibacterial foaming hand soap.

I’ve been so happy with these products that I don’t plan on going back on the antibiotic once I have the baby (which I’m stoked about!).

If you are pregnant and down about your acne, don’t feel alone! With the influx of hormones your body is producing just about everything is changing! Maybe you can try out Murad or maybe another product will be right for you. I was happy I tried something new b/c my focus was able to shift from being self-conscious ALL the time to focusing on my sweet baby girl.

