Advancing Your Craft

by starleewhite

diy-baby-dress-geranium-dress-vintage-fabric-dearly-noted-lifestyle-blog-nesting-maternity-pregnancy

Recently I’ve come to the conclusion that I am a ‘textile’ person. Crafts that involve any sort of fabric, knit, or woven material are the ones that get me most excited. Also…you should see my closet. I just love clothes and fashion!

I’ve been interested in sewing since elementary school and I’ve gotten to be ok at it. But lately I’m inspired to really try to advance ‘my craft’. It took me a while to realize it, but sewing and textiles are MY craft. I have many friends who are so talented at painting, drawing, graphics, web design, etc…but that just isn’t me. No matter how hard I try, none of those things will come as naturally to me as sewing.

Thankfully my mother-in-law is an incredibly talented seamstress so I try to glean from her what I can (and hope to more!). Also…the internet makes advancing your craft that much easier.

Take this dress above for example. I made this dress last week for my baby girl (who STILL isn’t here, btw) from a pattern online called the Geranium Dress. It has wonderful pictures and instructions…well worth the $10! I had a BLAST making this thing. It was much more complicated than what I’ve previously tried…but accomplishing this little 3-6 month size dress really gave me a confidence boost. I’m SO excited to try new patterns and get out of my sewing rut! I want to advance MY craft. I even want to graduate into making big people clothing. 😉

I challenge you to figure out what YOUR craft is and to take one new step toward advancing it! It’s so invigorating! It doesn’t have to be a big step, mine wasn’t!

